Magazine Article


Industry Scene

At the May IPC UN luncheon
At the May IPC UN luncheon: (front, l to r) Kathy Schneider-Jello (Lifetime Achievement), Tom and Jo Alice McDonald (PPA), Deborah and Rick Ferro (WPPI), Mannie Garcia (WHNPA); (back, l to r): George Long (ASMP), Barbara Bordnick (APA), keynote speaker Kodak SVP Mary Jane Hellyar, Anthony Cilento, Jr. (PSPA), and IPC president James Chung.
Diane Berkenfeld

John Meore and Judy Wong
John Meore and Judy Wong
Taprell Loomis Brighton line of photo packaging
Taprell Loomis Brighton line of photo packaging

Industry News

IPC celebrates international professional photographers month

The International Photographic Council (IPC) honored top professional photographers at its 8th Annual IPC Award Luncheon, part of its celebration of International Professional Photographers Month held each May at the United Nations in New York City.

Keynote speaker Mary Jane Hellyar, president of Kodak’s Film and Photofinishing Systems Group and company SVP, appealed to the photographic industry to keep the end user at the forefront of product development and to avoid concentrating on technology tools for their own sake. “Technology gives photographers the tools needed to accomplish a task,” she said. “But as we know, the magic doesn’t come from technology. It comes from the eye, the artistry, and the inspiration of the professional when he or she uses the tools the industry provides.”

IPC president James Chung and board members Anna Marie Bakker, Nikon, and Liz Vickers, publisher of Studio Photography and PTN, shared introductions of this year’s IPC Leadership Award winners. The 2006 honorees are: Barbara Bordnick, winner of the APA award; George Long, ASMP; Jo Alice and Tom McDonald, PPA; Anthony J. Cilento, Jr., PSPA; Mannie Garcia, WHNPA; and Rick and Deborah Ferro, WPPI winners. Recipients delivered moving presentations about their work.

The meeting concluded with board members Christian Erhardt, of Leica, received the IPC Outstanding Service Award; and Kathy Schneider-Jello, former Cygnus Imaging Group publisher, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her service to IPC and the imaging industry for over 25 years. The IPC is a non-governmental organization of the UN. To join, email James Chung at

The International Center of Photography ( recently recognized eight photographers who have demonstrated exceptional work in, and dedication to, the field of photography at its 22nd Annual Infinity Awards ceremony. The Infinity Awards were created in 1984 to recognize and honor the contributions of influential photographers.

The 2006 recipients are:

Don McCullin (Cornell Capa Award), Lee Friedlander (Lifetime Achievement Award), Ahmet Polat (Young Photographer Award), Geoff Dyer (Writing Award), Thomas Ruff (Art Award), Yuri Kozyrev (Photojournalism Award), Steven Meisel (Applied/Fashion/Advertising Award), and Mark Getty and Jonathan Klein (Trustees Award). The Publication Award went to Things as They Are: Photojournalism in Context Since 1955.

O’Reilly Media ( announces the 2006 O’Reilly Photoshop Cook-Off, designed to inspire creativity and discover promising talent from the ranks of the 4 million–plus Photoshop users. The contest will be judged by 18 top Photoshop pros. Submission deadline is August 15, 2006. For contest details and rules, visit

Photokina 2006—taking place from September 26 to October 1, this year’s photokina fair will be held for the first time in the new halls of the Cologne exhibition center, one of Europe’s most modern and attractive trade-fair venues. The new Northern Halls are replacing the Rhineside Halls, which will soon be converted into a media center.

The dominant theme of photokina 2006 will be imaging workflow. Developments such as increased digitization in the imaging sector leading to a smooth transition between professional users and traditional consumers will be reflected.

Digital Railroad (, a global provider of online services for professional photographers, has increased its involvement in the PLUS Coalition ( from Advisor to a Charter Sustaining Member and part of the PLUS Coalition’s Leadership Circle.

Corporate News

Technical Image Press Association (TIPA) is the largest and most influential photo and imaging press association in Europe.

Each year the editors and/or technical editors vote for the “Best Photo Imaging Products in Europe.” The 2006 winners include:

• Leaf ( Leaf Aptus 75 digital camera back was named “Best Digital Camera Back in Europe.”

• DxO Labs ( DxO Optics Pro v3.5 automatic image quality enhancement software was selected as the “Best Photo Software.”

1 2 next