Online Article Page


Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Photography, Announced by Columbia University

Winning breaking news image was captioned: "A wounded Japanese photographer, Kenji Nagai, lay before a Burmese soldier yesterday in Yangon, Myanmar, as troops attacked protesters. Mr. Nagai later died. " Published September 28, 2007.
Adrees Latif of Reuters


For a distinguished example of feature writing giving prime consideration to quality of writing, originality and concision, in print or in print and online, ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Gene Weingarten of The Washington Post for his chronicling of a world-class violinist who, as an experiment, played beautiful music in a subway station filled with unheeding commuters. Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Thomas Curwen of the Los Angeles Times for his vivid account of a grizzly bear attack and the recovery of the two victims, and Kevin Vaughan of the Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colo., for his sensitive retelling of a school bus and train collision at a rural crossing in 1961 that killed 20 children.


For distinguished commentary, in print or in print and online, ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Steven Pearlstein of The Washington Post for his insightful columns that explore the nation’s complex economic ills with masterful clarity.

Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Regina Brett of The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, for her passionate columns on alienated teenagers in a dangerous city neighborhood, and John Kass of the Chicago Tribune for his hard-hitting columns on the abuse of local political power and a lively range of topics in a colorful city.


For distinguished criticism, in print or in print and online, ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Mark Feeney of The Boston Globe for his penetrating and versatile command of the visual arts, from film and photography to painting.

Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Ann Hornaday of The Washington Post for her perceptive movie reviews and essays, reflecting solid research and an easy, engaging style, and Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer for her forceful critiques that illuminate the vital interplay between architecture and the life of her city.


For distinguished editorial writing, the test of excellence being clearness of style, moral purpose, sound reasoning, and power to influence public opinion in what the writer conceives to be the right direction, in print or in print and online, ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

No Award

Nominated as finalists in this category were: Maureen Downey of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution for her compelling editorials on the harsh sentences that teenagers can receive for consensual sex in Georgia, Rodger Jones of The Dallas Morning News for his relentless editorials that led to mandating roll-call votes on all statewide legislation in Texas, and The Wisconsin State Journal Staff for its persistent, high-spirited campaign against abuses in the governor’s veto power.


For a distinguished cartoon or portfolio of cartoons published during the year, characterized by originality, editorial effectiveness, quality of drawing and pictorial effect, in print or in print and online, ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Michael Ramirez of Investor’s Business Daily for his provocative cartoons that rely on originality, humor and detailed artistry.

Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Tom Batiuk of King Features for a sequence in his cartoon strip “Funky Winkerbean” that portrays a woman’s poignant battle with breast cancer, and Clay Bennett of The Christian Science Monitor for his distinctive cartoons marked by sharp focus and pungent simplicity.

Other awards were given in history, music, drama, fiction and letters.

The members of the Pulitzer Prize Board are:

President Bollinger; Danielle Allen, UPS Foundation professor of social science, Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton University; Jim Amoss, editor, The New Orleans Times-Picayune; Amanda Bennett, executive editor/enterprise, Bloomberg News; Joann Byrd, former editor of the editorial page, Seattle Post-Intelligencer (co-chair); Kathleen Carroll, senior vice president and executive editor, Associated Press; Thomas L. Friedman, columnist, The New York Times; Paul Gigot, editorial page editor and vice president, The Wall Street Journal; Donald E. Graham, chairman, The Washington Post; Anders Gyllenhaal, executive editor, The Miami Herald; Jay T. Harris, director, The Center for the Study of Journalism and Democracy, University of Southern California; David M. Kennedy, Donald J. McLachlan professor of history, Stanford University; Nicholas Lemann, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; Ann Marie Lipinski, senior vice president and editor, Chicago Tribune; Gregory L. Moore, editor, The Denver Post; Richard Oppel, editor, Austin American-Statesman; Michael Pride, editor, Concord (N.H.) Monitor (co-chair); Paul Tash, editor, CEO and chairman, St. Petersburg Times; and Sig Gissler, administrator of the Prizes.