Online Article Page


Columbia University Announces 91st Annual Pulitzer Prizes


For a distinguished book of nonfiction by an American author that is noteligible for consideration in any other category, Ten thousand dollars($10,000).

Awarded to "The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11" by LawrenceWright (Alfred A. Knopf).

Also nominated as finalists in this category were: "Crazy: A Father'sSearch Through America's Mental Health Madness" by Pete Earley (G.P. Putnam'sSons), and "Fiasco: The American Military Adventure in Iraq " by Thomas E.Ricks (The Penguin Press).


For distinguished musical composition by an American that has had itsfirst performance or recording in the United States during the year, Tenthousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to "Sound Grammar" by Ornette Coleman, recording released September 12, 2006 .

Also nominated as finalists in this category were: "Grendel" by ElliotGoldenthal, premiered June 8, 2006 by the Los Angeles Opera at the DorothyChandler Pavilion, libretto by Julie Taymor and J.D. McClatchy, and "AstralCanticle" by Augusta Read Thomas, premiered June 1, 2006 by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (G. Schirmer, Inc.).


A Special Citation to Ray Bradbury for his distinguished, prolific anddeeply influential career as an unmatched author of science fiction andfantasy.


Posthumous Special Citation to composer John Coltrane for his masterfulimprovisation, supreme musicianship and iconic centrality to the history ofjazz.


The 1980 Pulitzer Prize for Spot News Photography to Jahangir Razmi, anIranian photographer, for his picture of a firing squad in Iran . (The picturewas published anonymously around the world in 1979 but the identity of thephotographer was unknown until revealed in December, 2006.)

The Pulitzer Prize Board made its recommendations for the 2007 prizes whenit met at Columbia on April 12 and 13 and passed them to President Lee C.

Bollinger. It announced that the awards would be presented at a luncheon on May 21 at Columbia University.

Thomas L. Friedman, Anders Gyllenhaal and Gregory L. Moore were re-electedto membership on the board.

The members of the Pulitzer Prize Board are: President Bollinger ; DanielleAllen , professor, Department of Classics and Political Science and theCommittee on Social Thought, University of Chicago ; Jim Amoss , editor, The NewOrleans Times-Picayune; Amanda Bennett , executive editor/enterprise, BloombergNews; Joann Byrd , former editor of the editorial page, Seattle Post-Intelligencer; Kathleen Carroll , senior vice president and executive editor,Associated Press; Thomas L. Friedman, columnist, The New York Times; Donald E.Graham, chairman, The Washington Post; Anders Gyllenhaal, executive editor,The Miami Herald; Jay T. Harris, director, The Center for the Study ofJournalism and Democracy, University of Southern California; David M. Kennedy,Donald J. McLachlan professor of history, Stanford University; NicholasLemann, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; Ann MarieLipinski , senior vice president and editor, Chicago Tribune; Gregory L. Moore,editor, The Denver Post ; Richard Oppel , editor, Austin American-Statesman; Michael Pride , editor, Concord (N.H.) Monitor; Paul Steiger , managing editor,The Wall Street Journal (chair); Paul Tash , editor, CEO and chairman, St.Petersburg Times; and Sig Gissler, administrator of the Prizes.

In any category in which board members have an interest due to the actionof the various nominating juries, those members do not participate in thediscussion and voting and leave the room until a decision is reached in theaffected category. Similarly, members of nominating juries do not participatein the discussion of or voting on entries in which they have an interest.